Ludwig Boltzmann entrance Ludwig Boltzmann grave Ludwig Boltzmann portrait

Ludwig Boltzmann - Life and Work

Ludwig Boltzmann was born on the 20th February, 1844 in the Viennese suburb called Landstrasse, and the next day, he was given the Christian name Ludwig Eduard. Boltzmann later said that this point in time - that is his birth night from Pancake Tuesday to Ash Wednesday - was the reason why his mood could so suddenly change from a spirit of gaiety to deep sadness. It was said of Boltzmann that he could treat his fellow men with biting irony, and still he was described as a man with a kind nature.

Ludwig's father died when he was only 15 years old and due to this, his to this date happy childhood changed abruptly, furthermore due to the fact that also his brother died a little later, after this event. For his school and university education, his mother sacrificed their entire family fortune that she had brought into her marriage as dowry. In Linz, Boltzmann was taught in private lessons, before being admitted to the secondary school in 1854.

In the secondary school, Boltzmann was given classes by the best teachers, and he was almost always the best pupil of his class. Already those days, he was interested in mathematics and in July 1863, he graduated with distinction.

After his father's death, Karl von Lanser, an independent gentleman from Salzburg, was appointed his guardian. As it was usual in bourgeois circles, also Boltzmann was taught piano lessons - even by Anton Bruckner, whom he appreciated very much. Playing piano played a role during his whole live, he had an excellent command of it and he rejoiced quite some parties with works of Beethoven, his favourite composer.

In 1876, Ludwig Boltzmann married Henriette von Aigentler (1854-1938) with whom he had five children. He spent both his humanly happiest and his scientifically most fruitful time with her and his children in Graz, even though one of his sons died at young age.

The tragic point is that the last years of his life were marked by illness, which in the end drove him to commit suicide. During a summer vacation with his family, Boltzmann hanged himself in a spa hotel in Duino, which then was still Austrian.

On his gravestone on his honorary grave at Vienna's Central Cemetery (Group 14 C, number 1), Max Planck had engraved the fundamental equation, which Boltzmann had discovered:

S = k log W

The time in which Boltzmann grew up and worked not only was the time after the revolution of 1848, the Ringstrasse era and the Gr├╝nderzeit, but it was in general a time of change and new values. This also includes natural sciences, in which the classic Newtonian world picture had been out-dated and the post-classic-modern world picture of the natural sciences prevailed. It was the time of conflicts between idealism and materialism, between the laws of social and cosmological order, which were then considered as being set in stone and those progressive ideas which are still today meant by the keyword "Darwinism".

The catalogue on Ludwig Boltzmann 1844-1906

The catalogue on Ludwig Boltzmannis available at the Hotel Boltzmann for EUR 15.00 a piece, an exhibition of the Austrian Central Library for Physics.

Boltzmann's motto was:

Say what is true;
Write the way that it is clear.
And advocate it until it is your opinion!

A further well-known expression is:

Available energy is the main object at stake in the struggle for existence and the evolution of the world.

Quoted in D'A W Thompson On Growth and Form (Cambridge, 1917).

Ludwig Boltzmann Eingang Ludwig Boltzmann Grab Ludwig Boltzmann Porträt

Ludwig Boltzmann - Leben und Werk

Ludwig Boltzmann wurde am 20. Februar 1844 in der Wiener Vorstadt Landstraße geboren und am nächsten Tag auf die Namen Ludwig Eduard getauft. Boltzmann sagte später, dass dieser Zeitpunkt – nämlich die Geburtsnacht von Faschingsdienstag auf Aschermittwoch - der Grund dafür sei, dass seine Stimmung so sprunghaft von ausgelassener Fröhlichkeit in tiefe Betrübnis umschlagen könne. Man sagte über ihn, Boltzmann konnte mit beißender Ironie seine Mitmenschen traktieren, dennoch wurde er als Mensch mit gütigem Wesen beschrieben.

Ludwigs Vater stirbt als er erst 15 Jahre alt ist und dadurch verändert sich seine bis dahin glückliche Kindheit schlagartig, noch dazu als kurz danach auch sein Bruder verstirbt. Die Mutter opfert für seine schulische und universitäre Ausbildung ihr gesamtes Familienvermögen, das sie als Mitgift in die Ehe mitgebracht hat. In Linz wurde Boltzmann vor dem Eintritt in das Gymnasium 1854 privat unterrichtet.

Im Gymnasium wurde Boltzmann von den besten Lehrern unterrichtet und war fast immer Klassenbester. Er interessierte sich schon damals für Mathematik und maturierte in Linz im Juli 1863 mit Auszeichnung.

Nach dem Tod seines Vaters wird Karl von Lanser, Privatier aus Salzburg, zu seinem Vormund bestellt. Wie es sich damals in bürgerlichen Kreisen gehörte, erhielt auch Boltzmann Klavierunterricht - sogar von Anton Bruckner, den er sehr schätzte. Sein ganzes Leben begleitete ihn das Klavierspiel, er beherrschte es ausgezeichnet und erfreute so manche Gesellschaft mit seinem Lieblingskomponisten Beethoven.

Ludwig Boltzmann heiratete 1876 Henriette von Aigentler (1854-1938) mit der er gemeinsam fünf Kinder hatte. Sowohl seine menschlich glücklichste als auch seine wissenschaftlich fruchtbarste Zeit verbrachte er mit ihr und seinen Kindern in Graz, wenn auch einer seiner Söhne frühzeitig verstarb.

Tragisch ist, dass seine letzten Lebensjahre durch Krankheit geprägt waren, die ihn schließlich in den Suizid trieb. Boltzmann erhängte sich in einem Kurhotel im damals noch österreichischen Duino während eines Sommeraufenthalts mit seiner Familie.

Auf seinem Grabstein am Ehrengrab auf dem Wiener Zentralfriedhof (Gruppe 14 C, Nummer 1) ließ Max Planck die von Boltzmann gefundene fundamentale Beziehung eingravieren:

S = k log W

Die Zeit, in der Boltzmann aufwuchs und wirkte war nicht nur die Zeit nach der Revolution von 1848, die Ringstraßenära und die Gründerzeit -, es war eine generelle Zeit des Umbruchs und der neuen Werte. So auch in den Naturwissenschaften, wo sich das Klassisch-Newtonsche Weltbild überholt hatte und sich das nachklassisch-moderne Weltbild der Naturwissenschaften durchsetzte. Es war die Zeit der Auseinandersetzungen zwischen Idealismus und Materialismus, zwischen den für unverrückbar gehaltenen Gesetzen gesellschaftlich wie kosmologischer Ordnung und jenen Fortschrittsideen, die heute noch mit dem Stichwort "Darwinismus" gemeint sind.

Katalog zu Ludwig Boltzmann 1844-1906

Katalog zu Ludwig Boltzmannerhältlich im Hotel Boltzmann um EUR 15,00 pro Stück Eine Ausstellung der Österreichischen Zentralbibliothek für Physik.

Boltzmanns Leitspruch war:

Bring vor, was wahr ist;
schreib so, dass es klar ist.
Und verficht's, bis es mit dir gar ist!

Eine weitere bekannte Aussage lautet:

Available energy is the main object at stake in the struggle for existence and the evolution of the world.

Quoted in D'A W Thompson On Growth and Form (Cambridge, 1917).